In the winter of 1922 a meeting was held by a small group of Ukrainian families on the west side of Youngstown, Ohio, for the purpose of organizing an Orthodox parish. The first Divine Liturgies were celebrated in the homes of these faithful immigrants. In the summer of 1924 the newly-founded parish began to function more actively. Property was purchased on the corner of Russell and N. Belle Vista Avenue for $7,500. The church was dedicated in 1925.
The original 25 families soon grew into more than 100 and land for a cemetery was purchased for $3,000. A chapel at the cemetery was erected in 1927. A social hall was added in 1932. The construction of a new church in traditional Ukrainian style began in 1939 and was dedicated on July 14, 1946. Sts. Peter and Paul, whose feast day is celebrated on July 12, were chosen as the patron saints of the parish.
As membership grew, a religious education program for children began. Ukrainian language was taught at the Ridna Schola. In 1946 a pavilion was erected. The rectory was completed in 1954. Through the hard work of many dedicated men and women of the parish, our beautiful Orthodox Center was dedicated in 1960.
We are proud of our beautiful parish and rich heritage left to us by our founding members. We are indebted to them for this great legacy, and we look forward to an even greater future for many generations to come.